参观前要知道什么 Alcatraz Island

关于参观的常见问题 Alcatraz

大部分 Alcatraz 是陡峭和丘陵,所以要准备步行长距离上山。从码头到岛屿顶部的监狱的距离约为 1/4 英里(0.4 公里),海拔变化为 130 英尺(40 米)。这相当于爬上一座十三层楼的建筑。

无法上山的游客 AlcatrazAlcatrazS.E.A.T.将需要协助行动的探访者从码头运送到监狱大楼。S.E.A.T.全天定期将需要协助行动的探访者从监狱大楼送回码头。如果有空位,需要协助行动的访客可由一名服务员陪同。S.E.A.T.不能接纳有小孩和婴儿车的家庭。S.E.A.T.的日程表列在无障碍网页上。
以下区域完全可供轮椅使用。

  • Alcatraz 码头区域
  • 监狱大楼主楼
  • 所有书店
  • 博物馆展示
  • 岛屿剧院
  • 码头 33 Alcatraz 着陆
  • 所有 Alcatraz Cruises 船只

航线上的 Alcatraz Island一日游包括往返岛内的渡轮交通,以及获奖的 "牢房 "语音导览,包括对前狱警和囚犯的真实采访。如果您购买了 Alcatraz一日游,你可以在 Alcatraz Island在最后一班一日游回程渡轮之前,您可以尽情地游玩。至少留出2个半到3个小时的时间,以便在岛上航行,参观细胞屋语音导览,探索岛上其他地方和历史性的展品,然后返回33号码头。 Alcatraz登陆。这趟旅行到了 Alcatraz Island单程12-15分钟,建议时间为2个半到3小时。大多数客人在旅行和游览期间共花费约2-3小时。 Alcatraz Cruises'回程渡船离开 Alcatraz Island大约每隔半小时就会有一次航班。请务必查看出发时间表,以确保您看到的是正确的季节出发和返回的航班。

俱樂部的 Alcatraz Island夜游是一个独特的项目,每个晚上只限于几百名游客,包括白天不提供的特别节目、游览和活动。票价包括船上解说的来回渡轮交通、从码头到Cellhouse的导游讲解、Cellhouse语音导览、纪念品小册子、娱乐设施使用费、以及只在夜间提供的各种特别节目和介绍。夜游的开始是在渡轮上的现场解说,渡轮将围绕着 "夜游 "展开。 Alcatraz Island在停靠前。抵达后,护林员或讲解员会带领一个团队在导游的带领下,从码头到牢房进行短暂的参观。夜游仅在周二至周六开放。

ƘĤĤ Alcatraz Island幕后之旅是最完整的体验,每次出发时最多只能容纳30人。这条两小时的导游讲解路线和内容都与 "幕后花絮 "不同。 Alcatraz牢房音频之旅或每天的导游和节目。它探寻了各种 "偏僻 "的地区,包括 Alcatraz Island在一般情况下,公众一般不可以进入的地方,可以去的地方包括新工业大厦、军官行花园、D座上层、医院、A座、城堡及/或小教堂、剧院等。參觀的地點可能包括新工業大廈、軍人行花園、D座的上層、醫院、A座、城堡及/或小教堂、劇院及其他可供參觀的地方。具体目的地不作保证。參觀路線可能會因安全及無障礙、天氣、建築、鳥類棲息地、團體人數等因素而有所不同。您将由一位知识渊博且富有娱乐性的公园护林员带领您参观,他将用过去的故事让您着迷。之后,您可以选择留下来参加常规的夜游项目。12岁以下的儿童不允许参加 "幕后之旅"。如果12岁以下的儿童购买了成人票或老年票,将不予退票。如需了解更多详情,请访问我们的 "幕后之旅 "常见问题。

你可以留在这里 Alcatraz Island如果您选择了一日游,那么您可以尽情地游玩。至少预留2.5-3个小时的时间乘船上岛,参观Cellhouse语音导览,探索岛上其他地方和历史性的展品,然后返回33号码头。 Alcatraz登陆。这趟旅行到了 Alcatraz Island单程12-15分钟,建议时间为2.5-3小时。

如果您选择夜间旅游,您的总体验只有 2 -3 小时。

如果您选择幕后旅游,导游将持续 2 小时。如果您选择在夜游计划后留下来,完整的体验,包括往返游船,持续4至5小时。

回程的行程表上有列出,也会在岛上的码头上公布。您可以在 Alcatraz Island只要你愿意,只要你愿意,如果你参加一日游,因为每天都有多艘渡轮从岛上出发。

注意:如果您选择一日游,最终渡轮是下午 6:30。最后渡轮到旧金山是9:25PM,如果你选择幕后之旅或夜间旅游。

从 Alcatraz Island 到码头 33 Alcatraz 着陆时间约为 12-15 分钟。船在先到先得的基础上装载。

请注意:33号码头不设停车场。

路边停车位。
渔人码头地区的路边停车位比较难找,几乎每个车位都有停车咪表。停车咪表可以使用硬币、1角钱、1角硬币、1角5分钱和信用卡。价格从每小时0.25美元到6美元不等。该地区的停车咪表一周7天都在营业。该地区经常发生汽车被盗事件,请不要将贵重物品放在车内。我们建议乘坐公共交通工具或下车。

商业停车场:
33号码头五个街区半径内有15个商业地段 Alcatraz 着陆,共有3000多个停车位。最近和最方便的地段位于弗朗西斯科街55号和弗朗西斯科街80号。该地区经常发生汽车闯入活动,因此请勿将贵重物品留在车内。停车费高达每天40-60美元。我们建议乘坐公共交通工具或下车。

有关在渔人码头区域停车的更多信息,请访问计划您的行程:停车

如果您在到达 33 号码头时已经没有机票 Alcatraz 着陆时,您可以在售票处查看出座情况并购买门票。如果您已经购买了门票,则游客可在售票处领取预付门票(将呼叫)。"码头 33 Alcatraz 登陆位于恩巴卡德罗湾街脚下,在恩巴卡德罗湾街和恩巴卡德罗街和桑塞姆街的交叉口之间。请在出发时间前半小时抵达办理入住。您必须出示政府签发的有效带照片的身份证件以及用于购买机票的信用卡。护照的复印件足以作为有效的带照片的身份证件。

为了避免人潮,请将游览时间安排在11月的前两周、12月的前两周和1月至3月的冬季任何时候。为了体验最好的天气,请将游览时间安排在4-5月或9-10月。(出乎意料的是,夏天实际上会给旧金山和岛屿带来寒冷和雾霾的天气。)

志愿者和讲解员全天提供导游服务,经常带领游客进入岛上鲜为人知的地方。牢房语音导览 "是由前狱警和囚犯们的声音组成的引人入胜的 "时间之旅"。每隔半小时播放一段介绍岛上历史的视频,介绍岛上的情况。此外,还设有博物馆展示和多个书店。从9月下旬到2月1日鸟类筑巢季节结束后,你可以在岛上的历史巡游场进行探索,也可以沿着龙舌兰小径徒步走到水边。

2月至8月。建巢和产蛋发生在4月和5月,6月中旬开始孵化雏鸟。访问 "的鸟类的.

天气变化无常,很容易出人意料地发生变化,所以无论天气如何好,都要做好准备,带上一件轻便的外套或毛衣。最好的建议是多穿几层衣服。在潮湿的冬季,请穿上雨具。雨具可在岛上的书店购买)。避免穿凉鞋、皮底鞋、高跟鞋和露趾鞋。请访问我们的 "穿什么 "页面。

岛上到处都能看到西鸥。沿着西路,可以很容易看到布兰特鸬鹚。从西路上还可以看到雪白鹭和黑冠夜鹭。在岛上还可以看到鸬鹚、鸽子鸠、加拿大雁、白鹭和几种鸣禽。访问 "的鸟类。

不。未满18岁的未成年人不得旅游 Alcatraz Island 没有成人的陪伴。成人必须与他们在任何时候,而在他们的旅游 Alcatraz Island .正在参观的 18 岁以下儿童 Alcatraz Island 由成人无人陪伴将被送回33号码头 Alcatraz 着陆和退款将给予。

不允许携带行李、冷藏箱、超大号背包或包裹上路。 Alcatraz Island出于安全考虑。的和 Alcatraz Cruises遵守国土安全部的准则。轮渡的出发点和到达点受到美国海岸警卫队的严格检查,并像机场一样受到严格监管。因此,行李、冷却器和超大号的背包和大包裹是不允许携带的。 Alcatraz Island.背包的最大可接受尺寸为16 "x20"。33号码头内没有储物设施。 Alcatraz着陆区。 Alcatraz Cruises不为购票旅客存放行李。在33号码头以北约1/3英里处的加州迎宾中心(PIER 39)有行李存放处。 Alcatraz着陆。请在抵达机场前安排好行李和超重物品的存放,并在抵达机场前安排好行李和超重物品的存放。 Alcatraz降落。购票旅客到达 Alcatraz带着行李、清凉袋、超长的背包和包裹降落,可能无法访问 Alcatraz Island.请注意,如果游客因行李或超重行李而错过了船期,我们不能提供退款。谢谢您在这方面的合作。

有关公园法律和政策的更多信息,请访问https://www.nps.gov/goga/learn/management/lawsandpolicies.htm。

FB Twitter Instagram Youtube Pinterest Skip to main content

Visiting Alcatraz Island

Frequently Asked Questions About Visiting

What To Know Before You Visit Alcatraz Island

FAQs About Visiting Alcatraz

How accessible is Alcatraz?

Much of Alcatraz is steep and hilly, so be prepared for walking long distances uphill. The distance from the dock to the prison at the top of the Island is about 1/4 mile (.4 km) and the elevation change is 130 feet (40 meters). This is equivalent to climbing a thirteen-story building.

Visitors unable to make the climb up Alcatraz’s roads may take advantage of S.E.A.T. (Sustainable Easy Access Transport) Tram — an electric shuttle that meets each scheduled arrival at the Alcatraz dock and transports visitors requiring mobility assistance from the dock to the prison building. S.E.A.T. returns visitors requiring mobility assistance from the prison building back to the dock at regular intervals throughout the day. Visitors requiring mobility assistance may be accompanied by one attendant in their party if space is available. Families with small children and strollers cannot be accommodated on S.E.A.T. Seating is on a first come, first serve basis. The S.E.A.T. schedule is listed on the Accessibility page.
The following areas are completely wheelchair accessible:

  • Alcatraz dock area
  • Prison building main floor
  • All bookstores
  • Museum displays
  • Island theater
  • Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing
  • All Alcatraz Cruises vessels

How are the tours different?

The Alcatraz Island Day Tour includes round-trip ferry transportation to the Island and the award-winning Cellhouse audio tour with actual interviews of former guards and inmates. If you purchase the Alcatraz Day Tour, you can stay on Alcatraz Island as long as you like up until the last Day Tour return ferry. Allow at least 2 ½ to 3 hours for sailing to the Island, taking the Cellhouse audio tour, exploring the rest of the Island and its historic exhibits and returning to Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing. The trip over to Alcatraz Island is 12-15 minutes each way and is factored into the suggested time of 2 ½ to 3 hours. Most guests spend approximately 2-3 hours total for the duration of the trip and tour. Alcatraz Cruises’ return ferries leave Alcatraz Island roughly every half hour from the time of arrival. Please be sure to check the departure schedule to ensure you are viewing the proper season’s departures and returns.

The Alcatraz Island Night Tour is a unique program limited to a few hundred visitors per evening and includes special programs, tours, and activities not offered during the day. The ticket includes round-trip ferry transportation with on-board narration, a guided tour from Dock to Cellhouse, the Cellhouse audio tour, a keepsake souvenir brochure, recreation use fee and a variety of special programs and presentations offered only at night, are all included. The Night Tour begins with a live narration on the ferry which cruises around Alcatraz Island before docking. Upon arrival, a ranger or a docent will lead a group on a short guided tour from the dock to the Cellhouse. Night Tours are only available Tuesday through Saturday.

The Alcatraz Island Behind The Scenes Tour is the most complete experience that is only available to a maximum of 30 people per departure. This two hour guided tour covers a different route and contains different content than the Alcatraz Cellhouse Audio Tour or the daily guided tours and programs. It explores a variety of “off the beaten path” areas of Alcatraz Island not normally accessible to the public on a regular tour. Destinations may include the New Industries Building, the Officers’ Row Gardens, the upper levels of D Block, the Hospital, A Block, Citadel and/or the Chapel, Theatre and other areas as they become available. Specific destinations are not guaranteed. The tour route may vary depending on safety and accessibility concerns, weather, construction, bird habitat, group size, etc. You will be guided by a knowledgeable and entertaining Park Ranger who will keep you captivated with stories from the past. You may then choose to stay afterwards to join the regular Night Tour program. Children under the age of 12 are not allowed on the Behind The Scenes Tour. No refunds will be given if Adult or Senior tickets are purchased for children under age 12. For more details visit our Behind The Scenes Tour FAQs.

How much time should I allow for my visit?

You can stay on Alcatraz Island as long as you like if you choose the Day Tour. Allow at least 2 1/2 – 3 hours for sailing to the Island, taking the Cellhouse audio tour, exploring the rest of the Island and its historic exhibits and returning to Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing. The trip over to Alcatraz Island is 12-15 minutes each way and is factored into the suggested time of 2 ½ – 3 hours.

If you choose the Night Tour, your total experience is only 2 -3 hours.

If you choose the Behind The Scenes Tour, the guided tour lasts 2 hours. If you choose to stay afterwards for the Night Tour program, the complete experience including round trip boat ride, lasts 4 – 5 hours. 

What time do we come back from the island?

The return trips are listed on the Departure Schedule page and also posted at the Island dock. You can stay on Alcatraz Island as long as you like if you take the Day Tour because multiple ferries depart the Island each day.

Note: The final ferry to San Francisco is 6:30PM if you choose a Day Tour. The final ferry to San Francisco is 9:25PM if you choose a Behind The Scenes Tour or Night Tour.

The ride from Alcatraz Island to Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing is approximately 12-15 minutes. Boats are loaded on a first-come first-serve basis. 

Where can I park?

Please Note: There is no parking on Pier 33.

On-Street Parking:
On-street parking in the Fisherman’s Wharf area can be hard to find, and nearly every space has a parking meter. Parking meters take nickels, dimes and quarters, and credit cards. Rates range from $.25 to $6.00 per hour. Parking meters in the area operate 7 days a week. Automobile break-ins are frequent in the area so please do not leave any valuables in your car. We recommend taking public transportation or being dropped off.

Commercial Parking Lots:
There are fifteen commercial lots within a five-block radius of Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing, with a total of more than 3,000 parking spaces. The closest and most convenient lots are located at 55 Francisco Street and 80 Francisco Street. Automobile break-ins are frequent in the area so please do not leave any valuables in your car. Rates can be as high as $40-$60 per day for parking. We recommend taking public transportation or being dropped off.

For more information on parking in the Fisherman’s Wharf area visit Plan Your Trip: Parking.

Where do I pick up my tickets?

If you do not have tickets already when you arrive at Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing, you can check availability and purchase tickets at the Ticketbooth. If you have already purchased tickets, there is a separate line for visitors to pick up prepaid tickets (Will Call) at the Ticketbooth. Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing is at the foot of Bay Street on the Embarcadero, between the intersections of Embarcadero & Bay Streets and Embarcadero & Sansome Streets. Please arrive one half hour prior to your departure time to check in. You must present valid government-issued photo identification, along with the credit card used to purchase the tickets. A photocopy of a passport suffices as valid photo identification.

What is the best time of year to visit the island?

To avoid crowds, schedule your visit during the first two weeks of November, the first two weeks of December and anytime during the winter months of January through March. To experience the nicest weather, plan your Alcatraz visit for April-May or September-October. (Surprisingly, summer actually brings cold and foggy weather to San Francisco and the Island.)

What can I see and do on Alcatraz?

The National Park Service volunteers & docents offer guided programs throughout the day; frequently taking visitors into seldom-seen areas of the Island. The compelling “Doing Time – the Cellhouse Audio Tour” features the voices of former guards and inmates. An orientation video with historical footage of the Island is shown every half hour. In addition, museum displays and several bookstores are available. From late September until February 1, when bird nesting season has ended, you can explore the Island’s historic parade ground and hike down the Agave Trail to the water’s edge.

What months are best for viewing nesting seabirds?

February through August. Nest building and egg laying occur in April and May, and chicks begin to hatch in mid-June. Visit the National Park Service’s birds of Alcatraz.

How should I dress when visiting the island?

The weather on Alcatraz is unpredictable and liable to change unexpectedly, so be prepared by bringing along a light jacket or sweater no matter how nice the day starts out. The best advice is always to dress in layers. Wear rain gear during wet winter months. (Rain gear is available for purchase at the Island’s bookstores.) Wear comfortable walking shoes with grip-type soles. Avoid wearing sandals, leather-soled shoes, high heels and open-toe shoes. Visit our what to wear page.

What waterbirds can I see on the island?

Western gulls are seen all over the Island. Along the West Road, Brandt’s Cormorants can easily be viewed. Snowy Egrets and Black Crowned Night Herons can also be seen from the West Road. Pelagic Cormorants, Pigeon Guillemots, Canada Geese, Mallards and several species of songbirds are also seen on the Island. Visit the National Park Service’s birds of Alcatraz.

Are minors under the age of 18 allowed to tour Alcatraz Island without the accompaniment of an adult?

No. Minors under the age of 18 are not allowed to tour Alcatraz Island without the accompaniment of an adult. An adult must be with them at all times while on their tour of Alcatraz Island. Children under the age of 18 who are visiting Alcatraz Island unaccompanied by an adult will be sent back to Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing and no refunds will be given.

Can I bring luggage/coolers/oversized backpacks or packages to Alcatraz Island?

No. Luggage, coolers, oversized backpacks or packages are not allowed on Alcatraz Island due to safety concerns. The National Park Service and Alcatraz Cruises comply with Department of Homeland Security guidelines. Ferry departure and arrival points receive a great deal of scrutiny from the United States Coast Guard and are regulated as closely as airports. For this reason luggage, coolers and oversized backpacks and large packages are not allowed on Alcatraz Island. There are no storage facilities in the Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing area. Alcatraz Cruises does not store luggage for ticketed passengers. There is luggage storage at the California Welcome Center at PIER 39, located approximately 1/3 of a mile north of Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing. Please make arrangements for the storage of luggage and over-sized items prior to arriving at Alcatraz Landing. Ticketed passengers arriving at Alcatraz Landing with luggage, coolers, over-sized backpacks and packages may not be able to visit Alcatraz Island. Thank you for your cooperation in this regard.

twitter instagram youtube google-plus facebook flickr pinterest