Ce qu'il faut savoir avant de visiter Alcatraz Island

FAQ sur les visites Alcatraz

While the app can be downloaded in advance, the audio recording will only play while on Alcatraz Island.

Une grande partie Alcatrazest escarpée et vallonnée, alors préparez-vous à marcher de longues distances en montée. La distance entre le quai et la prison au sommet de l'île est d'environ 1/4 de mille (.4 km) et la dénivellation est de 130 pieds (40 mètres). C'est l'équivalent de l'escalade d'un immeuble de treize étages.

Les visiteurs ne peuvent pas monter AlcatrazLes routes de l'Union européenne peuvent bénéficier du tramway S.E.A.T. (Sustainable Easy Access Transport), une navette électrique qui rejoint chaque arrivée prévue à l'aéroport international d'Amsterdam. Alcatraz et transporte les visiteurs nécessitant une aide à la mobilité du quai au bâtiment de la prison. Le S.E.A.T. ramène les visiteurs nécessitant une assistance à la mobilité du bâtiment de la prison au quai à intervalles réguliers tout au long de la journée. Les visiteurs nécessitant une assistance à la mobilité peuvent être accompagnés d'un accompagnateur dans leur groupe s'il y a de la place. Les familles avec de jeunes enfants et des poussettes ne peuvent pas être logées au S.E.A.T. Les places sont attribuées selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi. L'horaire du S.E.A.T. est indiqué sur la page Accessibilité.
Les zones suivantes sont entièrement accessibles aux fauteuils roulants :

  • Alcatraz zone portuaire
  • Bâtiment pénitentiaire rez-de-chaussée
  • Toutes les librairies
  • Expositions dans les musées
  • Théâtre de l'île
  • Quai 33 AlcatrazAtterrissage
  • Tous Alcatraz Cruises embarcations

Le site Alcatraz Island L'excursion d'une journée comprend le transport aller-retour en ferry vers l'île. Si vous achetez l'excursion d'une Alcatraz journée, vous pouvez rester Alcatraz Island aussi longtemps que vous le souhaitez jusqu'au dernier ferry de retour de l'excursion d'un jour. Prévoyez au moins 2 ½ à 3 heures pour naviguer jusqu'à l'île, explorer et retourner au débarcadère du quai 33Alcatraz . Le voyage jusqu'à Alcatraz Island est de 12-15 minutes dans chaque sens et est pris en compte dans le temps suggéré de 2 ½ à 3 heures. La plupart des clients passent environ 2 à 3 heures au total pour la durée du voyage et de la visite. Alcatraz CruisesLes ferries de retour partent Alcatraz Island environ toutes les demi-heures à partir de l'heure d'arrivée. N'oubliez pas de vérifier l'horaire des départs pour vous assurer que vous consultez les départs et les retours de la saison appropriée.

Le Alcatraz Island Night Tour est un programme unique limité à quelques centaines de visiteurs par soirée et comprend des programmes spéciaux, des visites et des activités qui ne sont pas proposées pendant la journée. Le billet comprend le transport aller-retour en ferry avec narration à bord, une visite guidée du quai à la cellule, la visite audio de la cellule, une brochure souvenir souvenir, les frais d'utilisation des loisirs et une variété de programmes spéciaux et de présentations offerts uniquement le soir. La visite de nuit commence par une narration en direct sur le ferry qui fait le tour de Alcatraz Island avant l'accostage. À l'arrivée, un ranger ou un docker conduira un groupe pour une courte visite guidée du quai à la cellule. Les visites de nuit sont uniquement disponibles du mardi au samedi.
Le Alcatraz Island La visite des coulisses est l'expérience la plus complète qui ne peut être proposée qu'à un maximum de 30 personnes par départ. Cette visite guidée de deux heures couvre un itinéraire différent et contient un contenu différent de celui de la Alcatraz Visite audio de la maison de la cellule ou les visites guidées et les programmes quotidiens. Il explore une variété de domaines "hors des sentiers battus" de Alcatraz Island n'est normalement pas accessible au public lors d'une tournée régulière. Les destinations peuvent comprendre le bâtiment des nouvelles industries, les jardins des officiers, les niveaux supérieurs du bloc D, l'hôpital, le bloc A, la citadelle et/ou la chapelle, le théâtre et d'autres zones, au fur et à mesure de leur disponibilité. Les destinations spécifiques ne sont pas garanties. L'itinéraire de la visite peut varier en fonction des problèmes de sécurité et d'accessibilité, des conditions météorologiques, de la construction, de l'habitat des oiseaux, de la taille du groupe, etc. Vous serez guidé par un garde forestier bien informé et divertissant qui vous captivera avec des histoires du passé. Vous pourrez ensuite choisir de rester pour participer au programme régulier de visites nocturnes. Les enfants de moins de 12 ans ne sont pas autorisés à participer à la visite des coulisses du parc. Aucun remboursement ne sera accordé si des billets adultes ou seniors sont achetés pour des enfants de moins de 12 ans. Pour plus de détails, consultez notre FAQ sur les visites des coulisses.

Vous pouvez rester sur Alcatraz Island aussi longtemps que vous le souhaitez si vous choisissez le Day Tour. Prévoyez au moins 2 heures et demie à 3 heures pour naviguer jusqu'à l'île, explorer l'île et revenir au débarcadère du quai 33Alcatraz . Le voyage jusqu'à Alcatraz Island est de 12-15 minutes dans chaque sens et est pris en compte dans le temps suggéré de 2 ½ - 3 heures.

Si vous choisissez la visite nocturne, votre expérience totale n'est que de 2 à 3 heures.

Si vous choisissez la visite des coulisses, la visite guidée dure 2 heures. Si vous choisissez de rester ensuite pour le programme Night Tour, l'expérience complète, y compris l'aller-retour en bateau, dure de 4 à 5 heures.

Les trajets aller-retour sont indiqués sur la page des horaires de départ et sont également affichés au quai de l'île. Vous pouvez rester sur Alcatraz Island aussi longtemps que vous le souhaitez si vous prenez l'excursion d'une journée car plusieurs ferries partent de l'île chaque jour.

Note : Le ferry final pour San Francisco est 18h30 si vous choisissez une excursion d'une journée. Le dernier ferry pour San Francisco est à 21h25 si vous choisissez une visite des coulisses ou une visite de nuit.

Le trajet du Alcatraz Island au quai 33 Alcatraz L'atterrissage dure environ 12-15 minutes. Les bateaux sont chargés selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi.

Veuillez noter : Il n'y a pas de stationnement sur le quai 33.

Stationnement sur rue :
Le stationnement sur rue dans la zone du Fisherman's Wharf peut être difficile à trouver, et presque toutes les places sont équipées d'un parcmètre. Les parcmètres acceptent les pièces de 5, 10 et 25 cents, ainsi que les cartes de crédit. Les tarifs varient de 0,25 $ à 6 $ de l'heure. Les parcmètres dans le secteur fonctionnent 7 jours sur 7. Les effractions de voitures sont fréquentes dans le secteur, aussi veuillez ne pas laisser d'objets de valeur dans votre voiture. Nous vous recommandons de prendre les transports en commun ou de vous faire déposer.

Terrains de stationnement commerciaux :
Il y a quinze terrains commerciaux dans un rayon de cinq pâtés de maisons autour du Pier 33 AlcatrazLanding, avec un total de plus de 3 000 places de stationnement. Les terrains les plus près et les plus pratiques sont situés au 55, rue Francisco et au 80, rue Francisco. Les cambriolages d'automobiles sont fréquents dans la région, alors ne laissez pas d'objets de valeur dans votre voiture. Les tarifs peuvent atteindre de 40 à 60 $ par jour pour le stationnement. Nous vous recommandons de prendre les transports en commun ou de vous faire déposer.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le stationnement dans le secteur du Fisherman's Wharf, visitez Planifiez votre voyage : Parking.

Si vous n'avez pas de billets dès votre arrivée au quai 33 Alcatraz A l'atterrissage, vous pouvez vérifier les disponibilités et acheter vos billets au Ticketbooth. Si vous avez déjà acheté des billets, il y a une ligne séparée pour que les visiteurs puissent récupérer des billets prépayés (Will Call) à la billetterie. Quai 33 Alcatraz L'atterrissage se fait au pied de la rue Bay sur l'Embarcadero, entre les intersections des rues Embarcadero & Bay et des rues Embarcadero & Sansome. Veuillez arriver une demi-heure avant l'heure de votre départ pour vous enregistrer. Vous devez présenter une pièce d'identité valide avec photo émise par le gouvernement, ainsi que la carte de crédit utilisée pour acheter les billets. Une photocopie de passeport suffit comme pièce d'identité valide avec photo.

Pour éviter les foules, prévoyez votre visite pendant les deux premières semaines de novembre, les deux premières semaines de décembre et à tout moment pendant les mois d'hiver de janvier à mars. Pour profiter du plus beau temps, planifiez votre Alcatrazvisite pour les mois d'avril-mai ou de septembre-octobre. (Étonnamment, l'été apporte en fait un temps froid et brumeux à San Francisco et sur l'île).

Please note: the Alcatraz Cellhouse is currently inaccessible due to construction.

Accessible areas on the Island and Alcatraz Day Tour features include:

  • Eagle Plaza, Cour de récréation, Sally Port, Roseraie
  • Vues iconiques de la Maison des Cellules, du bâtiment 64, de la Tour de l'Eau, de la Maison du Directeur, du Club des Officiers et des Jardins
  • Messages politiques de l'époque de l'occupation amérindienne sur l'extérieur de nombreux bâtiments de l'île Scenic City et Bay Vistas
  • Special access to “Red Power on Alcatraz: Perspective 50 Years Later” –an extensive exhibit telling the story of the 19-month Native American occupation of the Island on display in the New Industries Building.

De février à août. La construction du nid et la ponte des œufs ont lieu en avril et mai, et les poussins commencent à éclore à la mi-juin. Visitez les National Park ServiceoiseauAlcatrazx de .

Le temps Alcatrazest imprévisible et peut changer de manière inattendue. Préparez-vous en apportant une veste ou un pull léger, même si la journée commence bien. Le meilleur conseil est de toujours s'habiller par couches. Portez des vêtements de pluie pendant les mois d'hiver pluvieux. (Les vêtements de pluie sont en vente dans les librairies de l'île.) Portez des chaussures de marche confortables avec des semelles à crampons. Évitez de porter des sandales, des chaussures à semelles de cuir, des talons hauts et des chaussures à bout ouvert. Consultez notre page sur les vêtements à porter.

Les mouettes de l'Ouest sont présentes dans toute l'île. Le long de la West Road, on peut facilement voir les cormorans de Brandt. Les aigrettes des neiges et les bihoreaux gris sont également visibles depuis la West Road. Les cormorans pélagiques, les guillemots pigeons, les bernaches du Canada, les colverts et plusieurs espèces d'oiseaux chanteurs sont également visibles sur l'île. Visitez les National Park ServiceoiseauAlcatrazx de .

Non. Les mineurs de moins de 18 ans ne sont pas autorisés à voyager. Alcatraz Island sans l'accompagnement d'un adulte. Un adulte doit être avec eux en tout temps pendant leur visite de l'établissement. Alcatraz Island. Les enfants de moins de 18 ans qui visitent le site Alcatraz Island non accompagné d'un adulte sera renvoyé au quai 33 Alcatraz Atterrissage et aucun remboursement ne sera accordé.

Non. Les bagages, glacières, sacs à dos ou paquets surdimensionnés ne sont pas autorisés sur les Alcatraz Island pour des raisons de sécurité. Les National Park Serviceet Alcatraz Cruises se conformer aux directives du ministère de la sécurité intérieure. Les points de départ et d'arrivée des ferries font l'objet d'un examen minutieux de la part des garde-côtes américains et sont réglementés aussi étroitement que les aéroports. C'est pourquoi les bagages, les glacières, les sacs à dos surdimensionnés et les gros paquets ne sont pas autorisés à bord des ferries. Alcatraz Island. La taille maximale acceptable pour un sac à dos est de 16" x 20". Il n'y a pas d'installations de stockage au Pier 33 Alcatraz Zone de débarquement. Alcatraz Cruises ne stocke pas de bagages pour les passagers munis de billets. Il y a un dépôt de bagages au California Welcome Center au PIER 39, situé à environ 1/3 de mile au nord du Pier 33 Alcatraz Atterrissage. Veuillez prendre les dispositions nécessaires pour le stockage des bagages et des objets de grande taille avant votre arrivée à Alcatraz Atterrissage. Les passagers munis de billets arrivant à Alcatraz L'atterrissage avec des bagages, des glacières, des sacs à dos surdimensionnés et des paquets peut ne pas permettre de visiter Alcatraz Island. Veuillez noter que nous ne pouvons pas offrir de remboursement aux visiteurs qui manquent leur ferry en raison de leurs bagages ou de sacs trop grands. Nous vous remercions de votre coopération à cet égard.

Pour plus d'informations sur les lois et les politiques du parc, veuillez consulter le site https://www.nps.gov/goga/learn/management/lawsandpolicies.htm

FB Twitter Instagram Youtube Pinterest Skip to main content

Visiting Alcatraz Island

Frequently Asked Questions About Visiting

What To Know Before You Visit Alcatraz Island

FAQs About Visiting Alcatraz

How accessible is Alcatraz?

Much of Alcatraz is steep and hilly, so be prepared for walking long distances uphill. The distance from the dock to the prison at the top of the Island is about 1/4 mile (.4 km) and the elevation change is 130 feet (40 meters). This is equivalent to climbing a thirteen-story building.

Visitors unable to make the climb up Alcatraz’s roads may take advantage of S.E.A.T. (Sustainable Easy Access Transport) Tram — an electric shuttle that meets each scheduled arrival at the Alcatraz dock and transports visitors requiring mobility assistance from the dock to the prison building. S.E.A.T. returns visitors requiring mobility assistance from the prison building back to the dock at regular intervals throughout the day. Visitors requiring mobility assistance may be accompanied by one attendant in their party if space is available. Families with small children and strollers cannot be accommodated on S.E.A.T. Seating is on a first come, first serve basis. The S.E.A.T. schedule is listed on the Accessibility page.
The following areas are completely wheelchair accessible:

  • Alcatraz dock area
  • Prison building main floor
  • All bookstores
  • Museum displays
  • Island theater
  • Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing
  • All Alcatraz Cruises vessels

How are the tours different?

The Alcatraz Island Day Tour includes round-trip ferry transportation to the Island and the award-winning Cellhouse audio tour with actual interviews of former guards and inmates. If you purchase the Alcatraz Day Tour, you can stay on Alcatraz Island as long as you like up until the last Day Tour return ferry. Allow at least 2 ½ to 3 hours for sailing to the Island, taking the Cellhouse audio tour, exploring the rest of the Island and its historic exhibits and returning to Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing. The trip over to Alcatraz Island is 12-15 minutes each way and is factored into the suggested time of 2 ½ to 3 hours. Most guests spend approximately 2-3 hours total for the duration of the trip and tour. Alcatraz Cruises’ return ferries leave Alcatraz Island roughly every half hour from the time of arrival. Please be sure to check the departure schedule to ensure you are viewing the proper season’s departures and returns.

The Alcatraz Island Night Tour is a unique program limited to a few hundred visitors per evening and includes special programs, tours, and activities not offered during the day. The ticket includes round-trip ferry transportation with on-board narration, a guided tour from Dock to Cellhouse, the Cellhouse audio tour, a keepsake souvenir brochure, recreation use fee and a variety of special programs and presentations offered only at night, are all included. The Night Tour begins with a live narration on the ferry which cruises around Alcatraz Island before docking. Upon arrival, a ranger or a docent will lead a group on a short guided tour from the dock to the Cellhouse. Night Tours are only available Tuesday through Saturday.

The Alcatraz Island Behind The Scenes Tour is the most complete experience that is only available to a maximum of 30 people per departure. This two hour guided tour covers a different route and contains different content than the Alcatraz Cellhouse Audio Tour or the daily guided tours and programs. It explores a variety of “off the beaten path” areas of Alcatraz Island not normally accessible to the public on a regular tour. Destinations may include the New Industries Building, the Officers’ Row Gardens, the upper levels of D Block, the Hospital, A Block, Citadel and/or the Chapel, Theatre and other areas as they become available. Specific destinations are not guaranteed. The tour route may vary depending on safety and accessibility concerns, weather, construction, bird habitat, group size, etc. You will be guided by a knowledgeable and entertaining Park Ranger who will keep you captivated with stories from the past. You may then choose to stay afterwards to join the regular Night Tour program. Children under the age of 12 are not allowed on the Behind The Scenes Tour. No refunds will be given if Adult or Senior tickets are purchased for children under age 12. For more details visit our Behind The Scenes Tour FAQs.

How much time should I allow for my visit?

You can stay on Alcatraz Island as long as you like if you choose the Day Tour. Allow at least 2 1/2 – 3 hours for sailing to the Island, taking the Cellhouse audio tour, exploring the rest of the Island and its historic exhibits and returning to Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing. The trip over to Alcatraz Island is 12-15 minutes each way and is factored into the suggested time of 2 ½ – 3 hours.

If you choose the Night Tour, your total experience is only 2 -3 hours.

If you choose the Behind The Scenes Tour, the guided tour lasts 2 hours. If you choose to stay afterwards for the Night Tour program, the complete experience including round trip boat ride, lasts 4 – 5 hours. 

What time do we come back from the island?

The return trips are listed on the Departure Schedule page and also posted at the Island dock. You can stay on Alcatraz Island as long as you like if you take the Day Tour because multiple ferries depart the Island each day.

Note: The final ferry to San Francisco is 6:30PM if you choose a Day Tour. The final ferry to San Francisco is 9:25PM if you choose a Behind The Scenes Tour or Night Tour.

The ride from Alcatraz Island to Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing is approximately 12-15 minutes. Boats are loaded on a first-come first-serve basis. 

Where can I park?

Please Note: There is no parking on Pier 33.

On-Street Parking:
On-street parking in the Fisherman’s Wharf area can be hard to find, and nearly every space has a parking meter. Parking meters take nickels, dimes and quarters, and credit cards. Rates range from $.25 to $6.00 per hour. Parking meters in the area operate 7 days a week. Automobile break-ins are frequent in the area so please do not leave any valuables in your car. We recommend taking public transportation or being dropped off.

Commercial Parking Lots:
There are fifteen commercial lots within a five-block radius of Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing, with a total of more than 3,000 parking spaces. The closest and most convenient lots are located at 55 Francisco Street and 80 Francisco Street. Automobile break-ins are frequent in the area so please do not leave any valuables in your car. Rates can be as high as $40-$60 per day for parking. We recommend taking public transportation or being dropped off.

For more information on parking in the Fisherman’s Wharf area visit Plan Your Trip: Parking.

Where do I pick up my tickets?

If you do not have tickets already when you arrive at Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing, you can check availability and purchase tickets at the Ticketbooth. If you have already purchased tickets, there is a separate line for visitors to pick up prepaid tickets (Will Call) at the Ticketbooth. Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing is at the foot of Bay Street on the Embarcadero, between the intersections of Embarcadero & Bay Streets and Embarcadero & Sansome Streets. Please arrive one half hour prior to your departure time to check in. You must present valid government-issued photo identification, along with the credit card used to purchase the tickets. A photocopy of a passport suffices as valid photo identification.

What is the best time of year to visit the island?

To avoid crowds, schedule your visit during the first two weeks of November, the first two weeks of December and anytime during the winter months of January through March. To experience the nicest weather, plan your Alcatraz visit for April-May or September-October. (Surprisingly, summer actually brings cold and foggy weather to San Francisco and the Island.)

What can I see and do on Alcatraz?

The National Park Service volunteers & docents offer guided programs throughout the day; frequently taking visitors into seldom-seen areas of the Island. The compelling “Doing Time – the Cellhouse Audio Tour” features the voices of former guards and inmates. An orientation video with historical footage of the Island is shown every half hour. In addition, museum displays and several bookstores are available. From late September until February 1, when bird nesting season has ended, you can explore the Island’s historic parade ground and hike down the Agave Trail to the water’s edge.

What months are best for viewing nesting seabirds?

February through August. Nest building and egg laying occur in April and May, and chicks begin to hatch in mid-June. Visit the National Park Service’s birds of Alcatraz.

How should I dress when visiting the island?

The weather on Alcatraz is unpredictable and liable to change unexpectedly, so be prepared by bringing along a light jacket or sweater no matter how nice the day starts out. The best advice is always to dress in layers. Wear rain gear during wet winter months. (Rain gear is available for purchase at the Island’s bookstores.) Wear comfortable walking shoes with grip-type soles. Avoid wearing sandals, leather-soled shoes, high heels and open-toe shoes. Visit our what to wear page.

What waterbirds can I see on the island?

Western gulls are seen all over the Island. Along the West Road, Brandt’s Cormorants can easily be viewed. Snowy Egrets and Black Crowned Night Herons can also be seen from the West Road. Pelagic Cormorants, Pigeon Guillemots, Canada Geese, Mallards and several species of songbirds are also seen on the Island. Visit the National Park Service’s birds of Alcatraz.

Are minors under the age of 18 allowed to tour Alcatraz Island without the accompaniment of an adult?

No. Minors under the age of 18 are not allowed to tour Alcatraz Island without the accompaniment of an adult. An adult must be with them at all times while on their tour of Alcatraz Island. Children under the age of 18 who are visiting Alcatraz Island unaccompanied by an adult will be sent back to Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing and no refunds will be given.

Can I bring luggage/coolers/oversized backpacks or packages to Alcatraz Island?

No. Luggage, coolers, oversized backpacks or packages are not allowed on Alcatraz Island due to safety concerns. The National Park Service and Alcatraz Cruises comply with Department of Homeland Security guidelines. Ferry departure and arrival points receive a great deal of scrutiny from the United States Coast Guard and are regulated as closely as airports. For this reason luggage, coolers and oversized backpacks and large packages are not allowed on Alcatraz Island. There are no storage facilities in the Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing area. Alcatraz Cruises does not store luggage for ticketed passengers. There is luggage storage at the California Welcome Center at PIER 39, located approximately 1/3 of a mile north of Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing. Please make arrangements for the storage of luggage and over-sized items prior to arriving at Alcatraz Landing. Ticketed passengers arriving at Alcatraz Landing with luggage, coolers, over-sized backpacks and packages may not be able to visit Alcatraz Island. Thank you for your cooperation in this regard.

twitter instagram youtube google-plus facebook flickr pinterest