ما يجب معرفته قبل زيارتك Alcatraz Island

الأسئلة الشائعة حول الزيارة Alcatraz

الكثير من Alcatraz هو حاد والتلال ، لذلك تكون علي استعداد للمشي مسافات طويلة شاقه. المسافة من قفص الاتهام إلى السجن في الأعلى من الجزيرة حوالي 1/4 ميل (. 4 كم) وتغيير الارتفاع هو 130 قدم (40 متر). وهذا يعادل تسلق مبني من ثلاثه عشر طابقا.

الزوار غير قادرين على جعل تسلق Alcatraz قد تستفيد الطرق من S.E.A.T. (النقل السهل المستدام) - مكوك كهربائي يلبي كل وصول مقرر في Alcatraz رصيف ونقل الزوار الذين يحتاجون إلى مساعدة في التنقل من قفص الاتهام إلى مبنى السجن. تقوم S.E.A.T. بإرجاع الزوار الذين يحتاجون إلى مساعدة في التنقل من مبنى السجن إلى قفص الاتهام على فترات منتظمة على مدار اليوم. ويمكن أن يرافق الزوار الذين يحتاجون إلى مساعدة في التنقل أحد المرافقين في حزبهم إذا توفرت مساحة. لا يمكن استيعاب العائلات التي لديها أطفال صغار وعربات الأطفال على S.E.A.T. Seating على أساس من يأتي أولاً، يخدم أولاً. يتم سرد جدول S.E.A.T. في صفحة إمكانية الوصول.
يمكن الوصول إلى المناطق التالية بالكامل:

  • Alcatraz قفص الاتهام منطقه
  • مبني السجن الطابق الرئيسي
  • جميع المكتبات
  • يعرض المتحف
  • مسرح الجزيرة
  • الرصيف 33 Alcatraz الهبوط
  • جميع Alcatraz Cruises السفن

و Alcatraz Island جولة يوم يشمل النقل العبارة ذهابا وإيابا إلى الجزيرة والحائز على جائزة جولة الصوت Cellhouse مع مقابلات الفعلية من الحراس السابقين والسجناء. إذا قمت بشراء Alcatraz جولة اليوم، يمكنك البقاء على Alcatraz Island طالما تريد حتى آخر يوم جولة العودة العبارة. السماح بما لا يقل عن 2 1/2 إلى 3 ساعات للإبحار إلى الجزيرة ، مع جولة الصوت Cellhouse، واستكشاف بقية الجزيرة ومعارضها التاريخية والعودة إلى الرصيف 33 Alcatraz الهبوط. الرحلة إلى Alcatraz Island هو 12-15 دقيقة في كل اتجاه ويتم احتسابها في الوقت المقترح من 2 1/2 إلى 3 ساعات. يقضي معظم الضيوف ما يقرب من 2-3 ساعات في المجموع طوال مدة الرحلة والجولة. Alcatraz Cruises ' عودة العبارات ترك Alcatraz Island تقريبا كل نصف ساعة من وقت الوصول. يرجى التأكد من التحقق من جدول المغادرة للتأكد من أنك تشاهد المغادرين والعودة في الموسم المناسب.

و Alcatraz Island جولة ليلية هو برنامج فريد من نوعه يقتصر على بضع مئات من الزوار في المساء، ويشمل برامج خاصة، والجولات، والأنشطة التي لا تقدم خلال النهار. وتشمل التذكرة النقل بالعبارات ذهابا وإيابا مع السرد على متن الطائرة، وجولة مصحوبة بمرشدين من قفص الاتهام إلى Cellhouse، وجولة الصوت Cellhouse، كتيب تذكار تذكار، ورسوم استخدام الترفيه ومجموعة متنوعة من البرامج الخاصة والعروض المقدمة فقط في الليل ، كلها مدرجة. تبدأ الجولة الليلية بسرد حي على العبارة التي تدور حولها Alcatraz Island قبل الالتحام. عند الوصول، سيقود الحارس أو docent مجموعة في جولة قصيرة بصحبة مرشدين من قفص الاتهام إلى Cellhouse. تتوفر الجولات الليلية فقط من الثلاثاء إلى السبت.

و Alcatraz Island جولة وراء الكواليس هي التجربة الأكثر اكتمالا التي لا تتوفر إلا بحد أقصى 30 شخصا لكل مغادرة. تغطي هذه الجولة المصحوبة بمرشدين لمدة ساعتين مسارًا مختلفًا وتحتوي على محتوى مختلف عن Alcatraz جولة الصوت Cellhouse أو الجولات اليومية المصحوبة بمرشدين والبرامج. فإنه يستكشف مجموعة متنوعة من "قبالة المسار للضرب" مناطق Alcatraz Island لا يمكن الوصول إليها عادة للجمهور في جولة منتظمة. قد تشمل الوجهات مبنى الصناعات الجديدة، وحدائق صف الضباط، والمستويات العليا من D Block، والمستشفى، ومبنى، والقلعة و/ أو الكنيسة، والمسرح وغيرها من المناطق عندما تصبح متاحة. وجهات محددة غير مضمونة. قد يختلف مسار الجولة وفقًا لمخاوف السلامة وإمكانية الوصول والطقس والبناء وموئل الطيور وحجم المجموعة وما إلى ذلك. سوف تسترشد بحارس بارك المطلع والممتع الذي سيبقيك أسيراً بقصص من الماضي. يمكنك بعد ذلك اختيار البقاء بعد ذلك للانضمام إلى برنامج الجولة الليلية العادية. لا يُسمح للأطفال دون سن 12 عامًا بالمشاركة في جولة "خلف الكواليس". لن يتم استرداد أي مبالغ إذا تم شراء تذاكر الكبار أو كبار للأطفال دون سن 12 عامًا. لمزيد من التفاصيل قم بزيارة الأسئلة الشائعة لجولة وراء الكواليس.

يمكنك البقاء على Alcatraz Island طالما تريد إذا اخترت جولة اليوم. السماح ما لا يقل عن 2 1/2 - 3 ساعات للإبحار إلى الجزيرة، مع جولة الصوت Cellhouse،واستكشاف بقية الجزيرة ومعارضها التاريخية والعودة إلى الرصيف 33 Alcatraz الهبوط. الرحلة إلى Alcatraz Island هو 12-15 دقيقة في كل اتجاه ويتم احتسابها في الوقت المقترح من 2 1/2 - 3 ساعات.

إذا اخترت الجولة الليلية ، فان تجربتك الاجماليه هي فقط 2 -3 ساعة.

إذا اخترت جولة وراء الكواليس ، تستمر الجولة المصحوبة بمرشدين لمده ساعتين. إذا اخترت البقاء بعد ذلك لبرنامج الجولات الليلية ، تجربه كامله بما في ذلك جولة ركوب القارب ، يستمر 4 – 5 ساعات.

يتم سرد رحلات العودة في صفحة جدول المغادرة ويتم نشرها أيضًا في رصيف الجزيرة. يمكنك البقاء على Alcatraz Island طالما تريد إذا كنت تأخذ جولة اليوم لأن العبارات متعددة مغادرة الجزيرة كل يوم.

ملاحظه: العبارة النهائية إلى سان فرانسيسكو هي 6:30 مساء إذا اخترت جولة اليوم. العبارة النهائية إلى سان فرانسيسكو هو 9:00 مساء إذا اخترت جولة وراء الكواليس أو جولة ليليه.

الرحلة من Alcatraz Island إلى بيير 33 Alcatraz الهبوط حوالي 12-15 دقيقه. يتم تحميل القوارب علي أساس من ياتي أولا يخدم.

يرجى ملاحظه: لا يوجد موقف للسيارات علي رصيف 33.

مواقف السيارات في الشارع:
يمكن العثور على مواقف السيارات في الشارع في منطقة رصيف الصيادين، ويحتوي كل مكان تقريبًا على عداد لوقوف السيارات. عدادات وقوف السيارات تأخذ النيكل والدايمات والأرباع وبطاقات الائتمان. تتراوح الأسعار من $25 إلى $6.00 في الساعة. تعمل عدادات وقوف السيارات في المنطقة 7 أيام في الأسبوع. سيارات اقتحام متكررة في المنطقة لذا يرجى عدم ترك أي أشياء ثمينة في سيارتك. نوصي بأخذ وسائل النقل العام أو إنزالها.

مواقف السيارات التجارية:
هناك 15 الكثير التجارية داخل دائره نصف قطرها خمسه بلوك من الرصيف 33 Alcatraz الهبوط ، مع ما مجموعه أكثر من 3,000 أماكن وقوف السيارات. تقع العديد من العقود الأقرب والأكثر ملاءمة في 55 شارع فرانسيسكو و 80 شارع فرانسيسكو. السيارات كسر الاضافيه متكررة في المنطقة لذا يرجى عدم ترك اي الأشياء الثمينة في سيارتك. يمكن ان تكون الأسعار مرتفعه كما $40-$ 60 في اليوم لوقوف السيارات. نوصي بأخذ وسائل النقل العام أو يتم إسقاط قباله.

لمزيد من المعلومات حول وقوف السيارات في منطقه الصيادين وارف زيارة خطه رحلتك: وقوف السيارات.

إذا لم يكن لديك تذاكر بالفعل عند وصولك إلى بيير 33 Alcatraz الهبوط ، يمكنك التحقق من توافر وشراء التذاكر في Ticketbooth. إذا كنت قد اشتريت التذاكر بالفعل ، فهناك خط منفصل للزوار لاستلام التذاكر المدفوعة مسبقا (سيتم الاتصال) في Ticketbooth. بيير 33 Alcatraz الهبوط هو في سفح شارع بأي علي امامكاديرو ، بين تقاطعات الشوارع امامكاديرو وخليج وشوارع امباركاديرو وسانبعض. يرجى الوصول قبل نصف ساعة من موعد المغادرة لتسجيل الوصول. يجب تقديم بطاقة هويه ساريه المفعول صادره عن الحكومة ، بالاضافه إلى بطاقات الائتمان المستخدمة لشراء التذاكر. ويكفي تصوير جواز السفر كبطاقة هويه صالحه للصور.

لتجنب الحشود، حدد موعد زيارتك خلال الأسبوعين الأولين من نوفمبر، وأول أسبوعين من ديسمبر وفي أي وقت خلال أشهر الشتاء من يناير إلى مارس. لتجربة ألطف الطقس، خطة الخاص بك Alcatraz زيارة لنيسان/أبريل - أيار/مايو أو أيلول/سبتمبر - تشرين الأول/أكتوبر. (من المدهش أن الصيف يجلب في الواقع الطقس البارد والضبابي إلى سان فرانسيسكو والجزيرة).)

و National Park Service المتطوعين وdocents تقديم برامج موجهة على مدار اليوم؛ في كثير من الأحيان أخذ الزوار إلى المناطق التي نادرا ما ينظر إليها من الجزيرة. مقنعة "القيام الوقت – جولة الصوت Cellhouse" ملامح أصوات الحراس السابقين والسجناء. يتم عرض فيديو توجيهي مع لقطات تاريخية للجزيرة كل نصف ساعة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، تتوفر عروض المتحف والعديد من المكتبات. من أواخر سبتمبر حتى 1 فبراير، عندما انتهى موسم تعشيش الطيور، يمكنك استكشاف أرض العرض التاريخية في الجزيرة والمشي لمسافات طويلة أسفل درب أغاف إلى حافة المياه.

فبراير حتى أغسطس. يقع بناء العش ووضع البيض في أبريل ومايو ، وتبدأ الفراخ في يفقس في منتصف يونيو. زيارة National Park Service 's الطيور من Alcatraz .

الطقس على Alcatraz لا يمكن التنبؤ بها وعرضة للتغيير بشكل غير متوقع، لذلك تكون مستعدة من خلال جلب على طول سترة خفيفة أو سترة مهما لطيفة اليوم يبدأ بها. أفضل نصيحة هي دائما لباس في طبقات. ارتداء معدات المطر خلال أشهر الشتاء الرطب. (معدات المطر متاحة للشراء في المكتبات الجزيرة.) ارتداء أحذية المشي مريحة مع باطن قبضة من نوع. تجنب ارتداء الصنادل والأحذية ذات الجلود والكعب العالي والأحذية ذات أصابع القدم المفتوحة. زيارة لدينا ما لارتداء الصفحة.

وينظر إلى النوارس الغربية في جميع أنحاء الجزيرة. على طول الطريق الغربي، يمكن بسهولة مشاهدة Cormorants براندت. ويمكن أيضا أن ينظر إلى Egrets ثلجي والأسود المتوج ليلة مالك الحزين من الطريق الغربي. كما ينظر إلى كورمورانتس البحرية، والحمام غيلموتس، وكندا أوز، ومالاردس والعديد من أنواع الطيور المغردة في الجزيرة. زيارة National Park Service 's الطيور من Alcatraz .

لا. لا يسمح للقصر الذين تقل أعمارهم عن 18 عاما بالتجول Alcatraz Island دون مرافقه الكبار. يجب ان يكون الشخص البالغ معهم في جميع الأوقات اثناء جولتهم في Alcatraz Island . الأطفال دون سن 18 عاما الذين يزورون Alcatraz Island سيتم إرسال غير مصحوبة بشخص بالغ مره أخرى إلى الرصيف 33 Alcatraz سيتم إعطاء الهبوط والمبالغ المستردة.

لا. لا يُسمح بالأمتعة أو مبردات أو حقائب الظهر أو الطرود الكبيرة الحجم Alcatraz Island بسبب مخاوف تتعلق بالسلامة. و National Park Service و Alcatraz Cruises الامتثال لوزارة الأمن الداخلي المبادئ التوجيهية. وتتلقى نقاط مغادرة العبارات والوصول قدرا كبيرا من التدقيق من خفر سواحل الولايات المتحدة وتنظم عن كثب مثل المطارات. لهذا السبب لا يسمح الأمتعة والمبردات وحقائب الظهر الكبيرة والحزم الكبيرة على Alcatraz Island . الحد الأقصى للحجم المقبول لحقيبة الظهر هو 16 "× 20". لا توجد مرافق تخزين في الرصيف 33 Alcatraz منطقة الهبوط. Alcatraz Cruises لا يخزن الأمتعة للركاب التذاكر. هناك تخزين الأمتعة في مركز استقبال كاليفورنيا في PIER 39، وتقع على بعد حوالي 1/3 من ميل شمال الرصيف 33 Alcatraz الهبوط. يرجى اتخاذ الترتيبات اللازمة لتخزين الأمتعة والأمتعة ذات الحجم الأوفي قبل الوصول إلى Alcatraz الهبوط. الركاب الذين تم إصدار تذاكر للوصول إلى Alcatraz الهبوط مع الأمتعة ومبردات وحقائب الظهر والحزم أكثر من الحجم قد لا تكون قادرة على زيارة Alcatraz Island . يرجى ملاحظة أننا لا يمكن أن نقدم المبالغ المستردة للزوار الذين تفوت العبارة بسبب أمتعتهم أو أي أكياس كبيرة الحجم. أشكركم على تعاونكم في هذا الصدد.

لمزيد من المعلومات حول قوانين وسياسات الحديقة، يرجى زيارة https://www.nps.gov/goga/learn/management/lawsandpolicies.htm

FB Twitter Instagram Youtube Pinterest Skip to main content

Visiting Alcatraz Island

Frequently Asked Questions About Visiting

What To Know Before You Visit Alcatraz Island

FAQs About Visiting Alcatraz

How accessible is Alcatraz?

Much of Alcatraz is steep and hilly, so be prepared for walking long distances uphill. The distance from the dock to the prison at the top of the Island is about 1/4 mile (.4 km) and the elevation change is 130 feet (40 meters). This is equivalent to climbing a thirteen-story building.

Visitors unable to make the climb up Alcatraz’s roads may take advantage of S.E.A.T. (Sustainable Easy Access Transport) Tram — an electric shuttle that meets each scheduled arrival at the Alcatraz dock and transports visitors requiring mobility assistance from the dock to the prison building. S.E.A.T. returns visitors requiring mobility assistance from the prison building back to the dock at regular intervals throughout the day. Visitors requiring mobility assistance may be accompanied by one attendant in their party if space is available. Families with small children and strollers cannot be accommodated on S.E.A.T. Seating is on a first come, first serve basis. The S.E.A.T. schedule is listed on the Accessibility page.
The following areas are completely wheelchair accessible:

  • Alcatraz dock area
  • Prison building main floor
  • All bookstores
  • Museum displays
  • Island theater
  • Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing
  • All Alcatraz Cruises vessels

How are the tours different?

The Alcatraz Island Day Tour includes round-trip ferry transportation to the Island and the award-winning Cellhouse audio tour with actual interviews of former guards and inmates. If you purchase the Alcatraz Day Tour, you can stay on Alcatraz Island as long as you like up until the last Day Tour return ferry. Allow at least 2 ½ to 3 hours for sailing to the Island, taking the Cellhouse audio tour, exploring the rest of the Island and its historic exhibits and returning to Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing. The trip over to Alcatraz Island is 12-15 minutes each way and is factored into the suggested time of 2 ½ to 3 hours. Most guests spend approximately 2-3 hours total for the duration of the trip and tour. Alcatraz Cruises’ return ferries leave Alcatraz Island roughly every half hour from the time of arrival. Please be sure to check the departure schedule to ensure you are viewing the proper season’s departures and returns.

The Alcatraz Island Night Tour is a unique program limited to a few hundred visitors per evening and includes special programs, tours, and activities not offered during the day. The ticket includes round-trip ferry transportation with on-board narration, a guided tour from Dock to Cellhouse, the Cellhouse audio tour, a keepsake souvenir brochure, recreation use fee and a variety of special programs and presentations offered only at night, are all included. The Night Tour begins with a live narration on the ferry which cruises around Alcatraz Island before docking. Upon arrival, a ranger or a docent will lead a group on a short guided tour from the dock to the Cellhouse. Night Tours are only available Tuesday through Saturday.

The Alcatraz Island Behind The Scenes Tour is the most complete experience that is only available to a maximum of 30 people per departure. This two hour guided tour covers a different route and contains different content than the Alcatraz Cellhouse Audio Tour or the daily guided tours and programs. It explores a variety of “off the beaten path” areas of Alcatraz Island not normally accessible to the public on a regular tour. Destinations may include the New Industries Building, the Officers’ Row Gardens, the upper levels of D Block, the Hospital, A Block, Citadel and/or the Chapel, Theatre and other areas as they become available. Specific destinations are not guaranteed. The tour route may vary depending on safety and accessibility concerns, weather, construction, bird habitat, group size, etc. You will be guided by a knowledgeable and entertaining Park Ranger who will keep you captivated with stories from the past. You may then choose to stay afterwards to join the regular Night Tour program. Children under the age of 12 are not allowed on the Behind The Scenes Tour. No refunds will be given if Adult or Senior tickets are purchased for children under age 12. For more details visit our Behind The Scenes Tour FAQs.

How much time should I allow for my visit?

You can stay on Alcatraz Island as long as you like if you choose the Day Tour. Allow at least 2 1/2 – 3 hours for sailing to the Island, taking the Cellhouse audio tour, exploring the rest of the Island and its historic exhibits and returning to Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing. The trip over to Alcatraz Island is 12-15 minutes each way and is factored into the suggested time of 2 ½ – 3 hours.

If you choose the Night Tour, your total experience is only 2 -3 hours.

If you choose the Behind The Scenes Tour, the guided tour lasts 2 hours. If you choose to stay afterwards for the Night Tour program, the complete experience including round trip boat ride, lasts 4 – 5 hours. 

What time do we come back from the island?

The return trips are listed on the Departure Schedule page and also posted at the Island dock. You can stay on Alcatraz Island as long as you like if you take the Day Tour because multiple ferries depart the Island each day.

Note: The final ferry to San Francisco is 6:30PM if you choose a Day Tour. The final ferry to San Francisco is 9:25PM if you choose a Behind The Scenes Tour or Night Tour.

The ride from Alcatraz Island to Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing is approximately 12-15 minutes. Boats are loaded on a first-come first-serve basis. 

Where can I park?

Please Note: There is no parking on Pier 33.

On-Street Parking:
On-street parking in the Fisherman’s Wharf area can be hard to find, and nearly every space has a parking meter. Parking meters take nickels, dimes and quarters, and credit cards. Rates range from $.25 to $6.00 per hour. Parking meters in the area operate 7 days a week. Automobile break-ins are frequent in the area so please do not leave any valuables in your car. We recommend taking public transportation or being dropped off.

Commercial Parking Lots:
There are fifteen commercial lots within a five-block radius of Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing, with a total of more than 3,000 parking spaces. The closest and most convenient lots are located at 55 Francisco Street and 80 Francisco Street. Automobile break-ins are frequent in the area so please do not leave any valuables in your car. Rates can be as high as $40-$60 per day for parking. We recommend taking public transportation or being dropped off.

For more information on parking in the Fisherman’s Wharf area visit Plan Your Trip: Parking.

Where do I pick up my tickets?

If you do not have tickets already when you arrive at Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing, you can check availability and purchase tickets at the Ticketbooth. If you have already purchased tickets, there is a separate line for visitors to pick up prepaid tickets (Will Call) at the Ticketbooth. Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing is at the foot of Bay Street on the Embarcadero, between the intersections of Embarcadero & Bay Streets and Embarcadero & Sansome Streets. Please arrive one half hour prior to your departure time to check in. You must present valid government-issued photo identification, along with the credit card used to purchase the tickets. A photocopy of a passport suffices as valid photo identification.

What is the best time of year to visit the island?

To avoid crowds, schedule your visit during the first two weeks of November, the first two weeks of December and anytime during the winter months of January through March. To experience the nicest weather, plan your Alcatraz visit for April-May or September-October. (Surprisingly, summer actually brings cold and foggy weather to San Francisco and the Island.)

What can I see and do on Alcatraz?

The National Park Service volunteers & docents offer guided programs throughout the day; frequently taking visitors into seldom-seen areas of the Island. The compelling “Doing Time – the Cellhouse Audio Tour” features the voices of former guards and inmates. An orientation video with historical footage of the Island is shown every half hour. In addition, museum displays and several bookstores are available. From late September until February 1, when bird nesting season has ended, you can explore the Island’s historic parade ground and hike down the Agave Trail to the water’s edge.

What months are best for viewing nesting seabirds?

February through August. Nest building and egg laying occur in April and May, and chicks begin to hatch in mid-June. Visit the National Park Service’s birds of Alcatraz.

How should I dress when visiting the island?

The weather on Alcatraz is unpredictable and liable to change unexpectedly, so be prepared by bringing along a light jacket or sweater no matter how nice the day starts out. The best advice is always to dress in layers. Wear rain gear during wet winter months. (Rain gear is available for purchase at the Island’s bookstores.) Wear comfortable walking shoes with grip-type soles. Avoid wearing sandals, leather-soled shoes, high heels and open-toe shoes. Visit our what to wear page.

What waterbirds can I see on the island?

Western gulls are seen all over the Island. Along the West Road, Brandt’s Cormorants can easily be viewed. Snowy Egrets and Black Crowned Night Herons can also be seen from the West Road. Pelagic Cormorants, Pigeon Guillemots, Canada Geese, Mallards and several species of songbirds are also seen on the Island. Visit the National Park Service’s birds of Alcatraz.

Are minors under the age of 18 allowed to tour Alcatraz Island without the accompaniment of an adult?

No. Minors under the age of 18 are not allowed to tour Alcatraz Island without the accompaniment of an adult. An adult must be with them at all times while on their tour of Alcatraz Island. Children under the age of 18 who are visiting Alcatraz Island unaccompanied by an adult will be sent back to Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing and no refunds will be given.

Can I bring luggage/coolers/oversized backpacks or packages to Alcatraz Island?

No. Luggage, coolers, oversized backpacks or packages are not allowed on Alcatraz Island due to safety concerns. The National Park Service and Alcatraz Cruises comply with Department of Homeland Security guidelines. Ferry departure and arrival points receive a great deal of scrutiny from the United States Coast Guard and are regulated as closely as airports. For this reason luggage, coolers and oversized backpacks and large packages are not allowed on Alcatraz Island. There are no storage facilities in the Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing area. Alcatraz Cruises does not store luggage for ticketed passengers. There is luggage storage at the California Welcome Center at PIER 39, located approximately 1/3 of a mile north of Pier 33 Alcatraz Landing. Please make arrangements for the storage of luggage and over-sized items prior to arriving at Alcatraz Landing. Ticketed passengers arriving at Alcatraz Landing with luggage, coolers, over-sized backpacks and packages may not be able to visit Alcatraz Island. Thank you for your cooperation in this regard.

twitter instagram youtube google-plus facebook flickr pinterest